Zinnias in Wisconsin in April?

I found this zinnia on the dining room table the morning of my birthday! (I’m not saying how old I am–but it was a significant number.) It was miserable cold day and I wondered, “Where did they find a zinnia at this time of year in Wisconsin?”

I looked a little closer and realized that the flower was made of crepe paper and was a present from my daughter. She has been making all kinds of crepe paper flowers for our neighbors and friends in the past month. Some of them take hours to make. I don’t have the patience, but I am glad that she does.

This little guy appeared a few days later. He is a present from my husband. We subscribed to Disney+ for New Year’s so that we could binge watch The Mandalorian until the ball dropped. It was cheaper than streaming movies, so now we have Disney+ even though I am not a real Disney fan and have most of the Marvel superhero movies on disc.

One of my nieces ended up with one of these little animatronic guys at the end of a family gift exchange last Christmas. I didn’t think much of it at the time, but after watching The Mandalorian and Boba Fett over again a couple of times, I ended up with a bad case of Grogu fever.

Man, those character designers sure know how to press all our buttons: baby sounds; small and seemingly helpless; ugly/cute; first steps-style baby walk; large liquid eyes in a little round noggin; toddler naughtiness; and unbaby-like food preferences (for gross worms and amphibians), green alien skin color, and (of course) superpowers. A character who needs to be saved and to save in return.

My mom had a similar reaction to Alf back in the 1980s when the show was on T.V. My dad bought her the Alf plush character and a rose for her birthday one year. I think Baby Yoda is cuter, and he doesn’t chase the cat.

All in all, it was a pretty nice birthday! Thanks to all my friends and loved ones who sent cards and greetings! Begonia

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Zinnias in Wisconsin in April?

  1. gaiainaction says:

    Hey a very belated happy birthday wish for you! I much enjoyed reading your post just now x

Share Your Thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.