Odds and Ends: Yarn Scraps and Crocheting Weather

img_8089-3One of the nice things about living in the temperate zone of the world is that we are forced to change what we do in a day with the seasons. It was 5°F when I woke up this morning with below zero wind chills. The temperature dropped about 25 degrees from the day before. During the night, we heard the rafters contracting in booms–as if someone had knocked over a big piece of furniture. Crazy swings in temperature are just part of what makes living in Wisconsin interesting!

Lately, I’ve been spending my time putting away Christmas decorations, organizing the house, working in the business, and crocheting. I have a lot of yarn scraps and decided to start making things out of granny squares of different types. I love the bright, earthy, cozy homemade nature of the multicolored squares. I feel warmer just looking at them and the colors add light to the dreary midwinter.

This is a enlarged hex granny big enough to be used to cover the top of a small square table.

This is a enlarged hex granny big enough to be used to cover the top of a small square table.

I found this pattern in a link to the Youtube channel Fiber Flux—Holiday Crochetathon. It is a series of videos that show you how to crochet, assemble, and finish a blanket, but the technique has many applications.

I’ve been having a lot of fun making runners and coasters out of scrap yarn and this hex granny pattern. You can use the simple technique for joining the pieces on any  granny-type unit–as I did with granny squares for kitty blankets and this runner for my bedside table. img_8096

Dig around in your stash of yarn and put some of those odds and ends to good use! Begonia

Just thought I would toss in a picture of Sammy looking extra snuggly.

Just thought I would toss in a picture of Sammy looking extra snuggly.

This entry was posted in Crafts, Make It Yourself and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Odds and Ends: Yarn Scraps and Crocheting Weather

  1. DeeAnn says:

    I love your beautiful crochet. It is so pretty and colorful. I love colorful. I am in Southwest Missouri and we get Spring one day, Summer the next & Winter the third. This is one week, lol. I love that you have Seasons. I love Seasons. It is cold here today in the teens and we had a bit of snow. Next week we will have a big warm up. Not very many people pack away their seasonal clothing in this area. Sammy is so sweet and just cuddlelicious. Nothing like a beautiful kitty to make you feel warm. I am organizing my home too. I am working in a journal for my creative time.

  2. The wife is a fan of crochet. She made three of these. One’s gone to her mum, one in storage and this one is all MINE! (although I do let her share it ).

Share Your Thoughts

