Bloglet: A Winter Visitor

Ever since the weather warmed up into the 30sF, this (click on this link to see video) little guy has been showing up on my patio for birdseed snacks. I first noticed him (her?) this autumn scurrying around my hosta beds dragging bundles of withered hosta leaves behind him with his tail.

He’s sleeping under my chicken coop in the neighborhood woodchuck’s winter burrow from last year. Whenever the weather warms up he/she comes out for a meal. opossums are North America’s only native marsupial, and they don’t hibernate (like our woodchuck–who is probably sleeping under our woodbox!). They sleep during cold weather and wake and eat when it warms up.

Some people think that they are ugly, but I think they are kind of cute–in an ugly way. Begonia

This entry was posted in Bloglets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bloglet: A Winter Visitor

  1. DeeAnn says:

    So cute! I am in love. I love opossums. We have a big white one in our yard. Sweet as can be. Opossums are one of my favorite animals. I am an Ozark girl and will always have a special love for them.

    • I grew up with possums as well. We had one who used to come up on the deck where my mom fed the birds, and it would peek in the kitchen window! Scared the heck out of me the first time it happened! Begonia

Share Your Thoughts

