Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas!

A Merry Christmas to you all! I haven’t posted in–what?–three months! I guess life just caught up with and overwhelmed me. I think it started with a stint of work in the village office helping people register and absentee vote for the entire month of October, and then the election,  and finally, some postelection work into the middle of November. Along came Thanksgiving and all of my children and my grandchild.

img_8046

Closely following Thanksgiving came Christmas. I was behind in my holiday preparations this year. After talking to a few friends and relatives, I came to the conclusion that I was not alone!

img_8084

I save decorating the German glass tree in the family room for when my daughter comes home from college. It’s so good to have her home from college for a few weeks.

My daughter helped me pull it all together by doing some of the baking and hauling boxes of decorations up and down the stairs from the storage areas in the basement. We finished putting ornaments on the trees just yesterday afternoon!

img_8064

I vote this the prettiest tree we put up this year. The ornaments glow with the light shining through them. I got the idea form my neighbor who decorates a pink tree in this manner. Gorgeous!

We put up nine trees of varying size and themes this year. Some are new like my white poodle tree trimmed with white lights and clear WWII ornaments. The Putz  under it is all  dime store wax from the 1930s-2000s.

img_8069Others are colored and small like my silverimg_8074 tinsel Harlow tree in the main bathroom, the new red tinsel in the living room, and the green faux feather tree in our bedroom.

img_8066

Yeah, I kind of went crazy with the glass bead garland this year.

We did put up one themed tree other than the white WWII in the back hall. This is my owl tree. I put it up in our bedroom on top of a small table buffered by a few night lights and a basket to limit easy access to it by naughty Sammy. He has taken to chewing on the trees or knocking off ornaments to gain our attention. It has earned him some time in “the cooler” (aka–the laundry bathroom) this past week.

img_8065

I collect at least one new owl each year. It has taken quite a few years to reach the critical mass for a fully loaded theme tree like this one.

There were two trees that were put up early–the dining roomimg_8076 plastic tree and my “new” tree in the entryway. I wanted to decorate a tree with my granddaughter who is five. One day she will handle my glass, but for now she helps me decorate with plastic. The entryway tree accents my nonfunctioning grandfather clock. (A bit of trivia–none of my mechanical clocks work! I just like how they look. Just another one of my quirks.)

img_8078

So now you have seen all nine of the trees we put up this Christmas (ten if you count the jewelry tree I hang in the family room), and it is time for me to go get the orange rolls in the oven, roll my husband out of bed to make the coffee, and check out what is in my stocking! I hope you all have a fun and relaxing day. Love, Begonia

img_8070

Let’s not forget the reason for the season!

This entry was posted in Bloglets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. Anita says:

    Loved the pictures – all unique and beautiful.

    >

  2. Donna says:

    Your trees are lovely! Have a very Merry Christmas with your family!

  3. DeeAnn says:

    Merry Christmas! I was thinking of your blog the other day. I am so glad to hear that you are doing great. Life has been fun busy. I missed reading your posts. I love your decorations, especially your trees. Your big living room tree and your owl tree is my favorite. I ooohed and aahed over the owl tree. Thank you for sharing your tour of trees. I really loved it. I do a pink tree too like your neighbor. This year I did a blue tree. After Orthodox I will be putting up a pink tree for Valentine’s Day.

  4. Happy Christmas, and loved the ‘owl tree’.

Share Your Thoughts

