Odds and Ends: Stale Tea

I just about poured several-days-old (stale) iced tea down the drain. Then a memory surfaced of my mother pouring a quart of tea into the Boston fern she kept in the front bedroom. It was a beautiful and messy plant.

IMG_7866

One of my sisters still has a piece of mother’s fern. It lives on in Texas! I think that the fern liked the tannins and acidity of the watered down tea. My mom did this occasionally, not at every watering.

I junk picked this big Boston fern from the village compost site several years ago. Every year people hang these ferns in baskets on their porches and then throw them away in the fall. (Back in the day, I only saw these ferns as cherished house plants–primped and fussed over.) I could have picked up six ferns this size last year in just a few of the times I was up at the compost site! Go figure. Begonia

 

This entry was posted in Gardening and Foraging, Junking and Other Freebies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

