Make Your Own Garlic Salt

IMG_7851 (2)

I had garlic salt on my grocery list and was shopping for it in my local food store. When I found it, a feeling of outrage overwhelmed me. (This happens a lot when I’m food shopping.) It  reminded me a scene late in the movie, Family Man, when Nicholas Cage’s character was buying rock salt to put on his driveway at the gas station convenience store, looks at the price, and exclaims, “It’s JUST salt!”

I turned away from the spice area muttering, “I’ll just make it myself,” went home, and Googled the recipe. It turned out I already had all the ingredients in my kitchen–most people do! But just in case you don’t, no worries. I calculated that, for the price of one container of commercially produced garlic salt, I could buy enough garlic powder and salt to supply my family with the condiment for a year or maybe longer!

Garlic salt is fast and simple to make. All you need are the raw materials, something to measure them with, and a bowl in which to combine them. The ratio is one part garlic powder to three parts salt.

I used a tablespoon measure. (1 tablespoon garlic powder and 3 tablespoons salt–I used a fine sea salt because I had it on hand and the blue ceramic container looked good in a picture!) I just mixed up enough for the shaker we use daily. You can make as much or as little as you wish.

There are lots of videos and blog entries on how to make garlic salt. I thought I’d add my two cents worth just in case you haven’t thought of it yet! Begonia

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation, Make It Yourself and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Make Your Own Garlic Salt

  1. DeeAnn says:

    Thank you so much for this recipe. I love that it is sea salt too. I say a lot of unlady like words at the grocery store too. I also say it is insane and they have lost their minds, especially in the produce aisle. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

