Scavenging and Reusing Glass

IMG_7820

I really wish I had taken a picture of where I found this nice haul of IMG_7817glass that I now have on three surfaces in my living room. I pulled it out of the garbage, loaded it into the back of my trusty but rusty van, brought it home,  and wiped it down with vinegar and water solution and newspaper.

This kind of glass turns up in the garbage a lot because it was usually fabricated to be the top or protect the top of a specific piece of furniture. As soon as that furniture takes the trip, the glass doesn’t seem to fit anywhere.

IMG_7819

The thing is that it doesn’t HAVE to cover the whole surface. Just the part on which you want to set a glass or plate. It is also nice for displaying a nice piece of handwork that you don’t want stained or getting dusty.

This tempered glass can’t be cut, but it can be etched with

This is one of two panes of tempered glass we special ordered to insert in the top two panels of our front door. They cost $35 each. It takes a hugely expensive machine to temper glass. You have to have it cut to size and then sent off to be treated. We wanted more light in our front entry and it was much cheaper to cut the panels out and install glass than to buy a fancier door.

This is one of two panes of tempered glass we special ordered to insert in the top two panels of our front door. They cost $35 each. It takes a hugely expensive machine to temper glass. You have to have it cut to size and then sent off to be treated. We wanted more light in our front entry and it was much cheaper to cut the panels out and install glass than to buy a fancier door.

any design you want. Like these windows my daughter designed and acid etched with a compound you can get at any hobby or craft store. It is just another way of customizing old glass to a new use in your home.

I hope I gave you some ideas for reusing glass in your home. Begonia

 

This entry was posted in Junking and Other Freebies, Recycle Reuse Renew, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scavenging and Reusing Glass

  1. DeeAnn says:

    I love your glass pieces. I loved the books on your table. 🙂 Another love- I really love your new blog header. I use tempered glass a lot too. I do a lot of crafts, especially paper crafting. Tempered glass is the perfect glass board for cutting. I also use my tempered glass as a paint palette. I got my big piece of glass from a broken scanner my husband took apart for me.

Share Your Thoughts

