Breakfast in a Mug: High-Protein Breakfast in a Minute and a Half

IMG_7674This is what I’ve been having for breakfast lately. I saw it made on YouTube, and decided to try it with a Morning Star “sausage” patty, a little low-fat cheese, and an egg. You need to use fully cooked meat for this recipe: ham, bacon, sausage IMG_7675

I put the patty in the bottom of a microwaveable mug, add a raw egg, sprinkle in a tablespoon of grated cheese, and mix the cheese and egg on top of the patty with a fork. This breaks the yoke and combines the cheese with the egg.

Pop the mug into your microwave and cook on high until the egg yolk is completely cooked. I cook mine for a minute and a half. Your cooking time will vary depending on the strength of your microwave.

After the egg mixture is completely cooked, I run a knife around the inside edge of the cup toIMG_7694 loosen the cooked egg and turn it out onto a plate. You can eat it with toast or make a breakfast sandwich out of it on a toasted English muffin as seen here. Enjoy! Begonia

P.S. Here is a link to one of my favorite YouTube channels, Do It On a Dime. This episode shows the egg and sausage in a mug and some other great ideas for fast healthy breakfasts.

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breakfast in a Mug: High-Protein Breakfast in a Minute and a Half

  1. Anita says:

    I like recipes like this for variety. Thanks

    • I like this recipe because when I get up in the morning I want to eat! I don’t want to wait for a frying pan to warm up. It is also high enough in protein that it keeps me going until lunchtime without snacking. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

