Happy Valentine’s Day

IMG_7643I thought you might enjoy this image. I had the candle holder collecting dust on a shelf in the living room and thought it paired well with this vintage wedding cake topper I picked up at the Willy Street St. Vincent de Paul thrift store on the east side of Madison, Wisconsin.

I judge the topper to be at least 25 years old by how the glue is discoloring in places. (My own wedding topper was similar only mine featured two doves in flight holding the wedding rings in their beaks–looks better than it sounds.)

I was standing in the checkout line with some clothing, a couple of ear bands, a infusion water bottle, and a goofy green ceramic frog for holding scrubbies by the kitchen sink when I caught sight of this masterpiece of sentiment on a Valentine’s Day-themed end cap display.

It cost 90 cents. I just had to have it!

I do most of my household shopping at thrift stores, and St. Vinny’s has a really good customer appreciation program. I had earned a couple of dollars from previous purchases and used them to get this cake topper for free!

My daughter laughed when she saw me bearing it triumphantly back to the checkout. My husband wasn’t as pleased and asked, “Are you really going to buy that? What are you going to do with it?” I told him it was going to be our Valentines centerpiece for the dining room table.

I think it worked out nicely. Don’t you? Begonia

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Bloglets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Wanda says:

    I looks very nice sitting in front of the candle. Happy Valentines Day!

Share Your Thoughts

