Bloglet: Bouquet Garni

IMG_7414I grow most of the common herbs that I use in my cooking in my front yard! Herbs are tough and I have planted one problem area of my front garden with them. Where nothing else has thrived, the herbs rule.

Recently, I made a very simple broth from some chicken carcasses without carrots, celery, onions, or herbs. I was trying to get poor Bert to take in some nutrition when he had stopped eating but was still drinking. Bert has passed but I still had a pot of this bland broth that I didn’t want to go to waste.

The answer was a bouquet garni.

IMG_7416A bouquet garni is a bundle of herbs that is used to infuse flavor into a broth or other dish. The bouquet is removed before the food is served. I put my broth in a pot on the stove while I went to pick the herbs to flavor it.

I created a nosegay of parsley, sage, rosemary, thyme, oregano, and summer savory and tied it together with some white cotton string. I made one end of the string long enough that I cold loop it around handle of the stock pot. This makes it easier to pull the bundle out of the broth when it is time to remove it.

I made a very big bouquet garni for this much broth. I only left it in the boiling/simmering liquid for a short time as a result. Taste the broth a few times and let the bouquet of herbs flavor it to your individual taste.

I removed the bouquet garni before I added and simmered the rest of the vegetables and ingredients in the finished broth. The resulting soup had a deep flavor and we are still enjoying it! Begonia

This entry was posted in Bloglets, Cooking and Food Preservation, Gardening and Foraging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bloglet: Bouquet Garni

  1. Anita says:

    Sounds very yummy. I use a lot of herbs and spices.

  2. Sanderella's says:

    I love herbs too, and bouquet garni is so elegant to infuse flavor into a dish! Love!! ❤

Share Your Thoughts

