Freezing Sweet Corn

Sweet Corn ready for the freezer

Sweet Corn ready for the freezer

We can never eat a dozen ears of sweet corn before they get too old, but that is generally the amount of corn that the roadside stands sell by the bag. Rather than waste the extra cobs, I cut the corn off of them and freeze them!

Even fresh sweet corn that is a bit past it’s prime is better than anything that you buy in a can or bag from the supermarket. This is also true of older cob corn that you freeze yourself for use later in soups, stews, chilies, side dishes, or to serve on its own as a vegetable.

IMG_7417After shucking the corn ears, I rinse each ear. I prefer to steam corn because I can cook more cobs at a time than if I scald them. I haven’t found that it makes a difference as long as I cook them for six minutes and cool them fast in ice water. Have a lot of ice on hand if you are going to freeze corn in any quantity because the cob holds heat and it continues to cook the corn unless you submerge the cobs in a bowl or tub of water with a lot of ice.

IMG_7418I had a friend who froze her sweet corn on the cob. She would use a (clean) stock watering tank filled with cold water and a lot of ice. She bought ice by the 20-pound bag!

IMG_7420The next step is to cut the kernels off the cob with a sharp knife. They make corn cutters, but I think that cutting corn with a sharp knife is easier, quicker, and cleaner–just watch your fingers!

I use a two-cup dry measure and a quart-size Ziploc-type bag as freezing container. I fill each bag with two cups of corn kernels. I try to squeeze out as much air as possible before closing the bags and lay them flat on a baking sheet or jellyroll pan before putting them in the freezer.

IMG_7421It’s a good idea to date everything that you freeze. I used a permanent marker on the top corner of the bag closure. I don’t write directly on the bag because I don’t want my food to taste like marker. Another way of labeling bags is by writing on a piece of masking or freezer tape and then sticking it on the bag.

Sweet corn as part of a holiday meal or in the depths of winter is a little taste of summer. It is worth the effort even if you only freeze a quart or two! Begonia

 

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation. Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

