Name That Baking Pan!

Can you name this pan?

Can you name this pan?

I found this interesting baking pan at a garage/estate sale. It cost me 50 cents! The woman who owned it before me was a retired home economics teacher. She loved to sew, cook, knit, and crochet, and if she liked a style of shoe, she bought a pair in every color available! (My only regret was that I am not a size 7 1/2.)

IMG_7284 (2)My only problem is that no one at the sale could tell me the use of this pan. You will note that the lid clamps on and the interior looks like a mini tube pan. It is 6 1/2 inches in diameter at the top and 4 inches in diameter across the bottom. It is 5 inches tall with the lid on and 4 inches tall without the lid. There is a handle at the top of the lid.

I would love to know what I have here and some recipes to try out cooking with it. Please comment and share what you know! Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation, Garage and Estate Sales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Name That Baking Pan!

  1. sweetpea2love says:

    This reminds me of a pan we used in the crock pot,, here is a link for a picture

  2. sweetpea2love says:

    Or a steamed pudding mold, link below

    • I don’t think this is it because there are no vents on my pan.

    • I definitely think this is closest to my pan. It is kind of a combo of the Christmas pudding pan and this mold. Thanks for the links! I’m going to do some research and then try making a steamed pudding in my pan. Begonia

      • sweetpea2love says:

        Begonia, I too think the latter of the links I sent to you is the closest.. I look forward to reading a post you might do regarding making a steamed pudding.. as I’ve never attempted one of these.. Take care Begonia, from Laura

  3. Tigeroo says:

    I don’t know what kind of pan, but I love how interesting and unique it is.

    • It is definitely a steamed pudding pan. I made a blackberry steamed pudding in it this past weekend! I found a recipe on BBC Food. I just wish I had made the custard that was supposed to go with it! I will blog on the culinary adventure soon, so stay tuned. Begonia

Share Your Thoughts

