Homemade: Hot Chocolate Mix

IMG_7020 (2)

Only two things raise my spirits at this time of the year: chocolate and the extra few minutes of daylight that each day brings.

Self-medicating with chocolate is one of the nicest things about winter: starting with all that chocolate candy at Christmas time and all winter with my daily mug of hot chocolate.

Times are hard and food prices just keep going up, so I thought I would share with you my Mom’s recipe for hot chocolate mix with a few of my own additions. This mix is economical and big enough to last us through the cold weather. You might have to make a second batch if you have a big family or a serious chocolate addiction!

HOT CHOCOLATE MIX

  • 1 large jar chocolate Ovaltine (or malt powder)
  • 25.5 ounces high-quality powdered milk (I use Sanalac.)
  • 16 ounce Nestles Quick (or any chocolate milk powder)
  • 6 ounces (or more) of plain dry coffee creamer
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup corn starch
  1. Mix all ingredients well in a large bowl, then transfer to an air-tight container for storage.
  2. Use 1/3 cup (or to your taste) per one cup of boiling water. Stir well.

I bought a couple boxes of the small candy canes for very little from the after-Christmas sales to break into pieces and drop into my hot cocoa for a peppermint flavor. You could also flavor your hot chocolate by adding cinnamon, cardamom, powdered vanilla, baking extracts (just a few drops of almond, orange, raspberry, etc.!), flavored syrups, or you can use a flavored coffee creamer when making the mix.

When I’m having a particularly hard day, I top my chocolate with a marshmallow. The marshmallows pictured are from a local shop that makes much of their candy from scratch. (They roast their own cocoa beans!) Their marshmallows come in a variety of flavors. My favorite are the peppermint. (I only wish she would dip them in chocolate!)

I hope your family enjoys this delicious frugal recipe as much as mine has during these past cold winters. Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade: Hot Chocolate Mix

  1. Anita says:

    That cocoa mix brought back memories…I made that a lot when the kids were still at home.  The homemade marshmallows sound delish.

Share Your Thoughts

