Turkey Noodle Soup with Homemade Egg Noodles

IMG_6836I know the web is probably jammed with people writing about what to do with that turkey carcass. I blogged about that a few years back myself. If you want a review of making broth from scratch, feel free to dip into my archives, November 26, 2010, “Don’t Throw that Carcass Away!”

This is a family recipe from my Dad’s French Swiss side. (I have no idea if this recipe is either French or Swiss–I just know it is good!) That side of the family settled in Galena, Illinois, and this is my late Aunt Vesta’s recipe:

Egg Noodles

½ teaspoon salt

2 cups flour

3 eggs

1 tablespoon melted butter or margarine

  1. Mix dry ingredients together well. Add wet ingredients and combine with a fork. Turn mixture onto a lightly floured surface and knead a few times until dough holds together well.
  2. Roll out the dough thin and even. Flour the top of the dough well and roll up. Slice noodles off roll to obtain the width of noodle desired.IMG_6830
  3. Unroll the noodle slices before dropping into boiling water or broth. For a thicker soup broth, cook noodles directly in soup broth. For a thinner, clearer soup broth, cook noodles in water and transfer noodles to soup broth when they rise to the top of the cooking water.IMG_6833IMG_6834
  4. Once the noodles are in the soup broth, cover and simmer for 20 minutes to thoroughly cook. The noodles will puff up a little. My husband likes this soup because of the texture of the noodles. The noodles are chewy. (He likes to chew his food.)IMG_6837

This is a simple recipe that is fun to make. Kids love to unroll the noodles before you put them into the boiling broth. I can remember doing this for my mother when I was a young girl. This recipe makes good memories! Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turkey Noodle Soup with Homemade Egg Noodles

  1. I especially like the recipe for the noodles because we eat LOADS of them..

Share Your Thoughts

