Planting

I had seed for pole beans, cucumbers, zucchini, yellow crookneck squash, carrots, bush beans, wax beans, onion sets, giant peanuts, and kohlrabi all sitting in the ground waiting for a strong rain to germinate.

Finally the rain came. (At one point it was raining in the front yard but not in the backyard!) It came down in weird spurts, then in fits and starts, and finally it rained buckets!

Tomorrow, I will plug in as many transplants as is humanly possible, and the next day I’ll rake out the chicken yard and use all the partially composted hay to mulch the back beds where I am not growing food that I will be harvesting immediately. This mulch will feed as well hold in the moisture that just fell from the sky. Reminds me of a song–or two (1:32-6:15).

Should be interesting to see how much I actually get done! Begonia

This entry was posted in Gardening and Foraging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

