Bloglet: Bird Watching

Breakfast was interrupted by a bird sighting. For once, I thought to grab my camera and turned it on as I walked to the dining room window. Here is what I saw.IMG_6199

These pileated woodpeckers are a rare sight. They require big trees for nesting. Our backyard is very close to a county park with a lot of big, mature trees and snags (big dead trees). We see these giant woodpeckers flying through our neighborhood 3 or 4 times a year, but we rarely have one in the yard long enough to take pictures. This one was interested in the rotted top of the power pole at the edge of our lot.

IMG_6201 (2)These birds are powerful and make short work of rotted wood and have no problem aerating live timber. My mother, then living in northern Wisconsin, once watched in horror as one of these birds hammered apart her favorite wooden suet feeder while in search of a snack.IMG_6197 (2)

Shortly after I took these pictures, it flew off. The wing spread was amazing and pure white underneath. When I see one of these birds flying, their silhouette reminds me of a pterodactyl because of their size and their crested heads.

It was exciting to observe and photograph this bird, and I thought I’d share the experience with you! Begonia

This entry was posted in Bloglets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bloglet: Bird Watching

  1. Sanderella's Crochet says:

    Those were some great pictures of that woodpecker!

Share Your Thoughts

