Homemade Thousand Island Salad Dressing

IMG_5983We enjoyed chef’s salads for supper last night (cheese, hardboiled egg, ham, green olives, and croutons) I made some Thousand Island dressing to go on it. I used an old cooking encyclopedia that used to belong to my mother. I remember looking up information in it when I was a teen learning to cook. (I used to look up recipes to bake in the summer or on weekends when I was bored.)

I don’t buy bottled salad dressings anymore because the homemade kind tastes so much better. There is a recipe out there for everything if you search hard enough. If you can come close to what you like as far as taste or consistency, you can usually achieve the final product you want by playing with the recipe a bit more. The recipe I am sharing here is a combination of parts of three recipes one of which was not even a Thousand Island recipe!

I thought I’d just share the recipe with you.IMG_5977

Thousand Island Salad Dressing

  • ½ cup mayonnaise (I use low fat.)
  • ½ cup sour cream  (I use low fat.)
  • 1 hard-boiled egg, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chili sauce or ketchup
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon each minced celery, pimento or green pepper, green olives, sweet pickle relish,
  • 1 minced shallot or 1 tablespoon minced fresh onion (or onion powder)
  • ¼ teaspoon each celery salt and black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon light table cream (½ and ½) or low-fat milk

Combine all ingredients and refrigerate until you are ready to serve. If the resulting salad dressing is too thick, just add more milk or ½ or ½ .

Birds, Wildflowers, vintage cookbooks 047A good source for salad dressing recipes are you mother or grandmother’s cookbooks and cooking encyclopedias. You can pick them up cheap at library book sales, garage sales, estate sales, and auctions. Church and community cookbooks are also a good source of this type of recipe. (They can be pricey because people collect this type of cookbook.)

A lot of my friends say, “Oh, I don’t bother with cookbooks anymore! I just go on the internet to find recipes!” One drawback of many online recipes is that they may not be tested or checked as thoroughly as conventionally published recipes. I do  use recipes from the net from time to time, but I have more luck with my library of old cookbooks. “Old” meaning cookbooks from the era before cake mixes or shortly thereafter. I usually won’t buy a cookbook that requires me to buy a box of dinner roll mix and combine it with a tub of ready-made hummus.

I do make some exceptions. I could but do not make my own mayonnaise and have been known to use low-fat Bisquick and boxed cake mixes or the occasional can of creamed soup. I usually cook from scratch. It’s cheaper, easier on my constitution, and it tastes better.

IMG_6013Keep an eye out for salad dressing shakers or plungers that have dressing recipes and oil and vinegar levels printed on the outside of the vessel. These gizmos have good recipes that are easy to make quickly. After chopping up a giant bowl of salad to serve over the course of a couple of days, I usually don’t have the energy to create a complicated salad dressing.

Making your own salad dressing is economical. The price is usually right as well–the last salad dressing maker I picked up only cost me 25 cents (the one on the right) and the ingredients to make a bottle of dressing not much more.

Try out the recipe and taste the difference between store-bought and homemade!Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation, Make It Yourself and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

