Odds and Ends: Mashed Potatoes

IMG_5877Just thought I’d share this tip as we enter mashed-potato-and-pot-roast season.

We had meatloaf the other night. Now we have left over mashed potatoes. We like potato pancakes (mashed potatoes, egg, and some flour mixed together and fried) made from mashed potatoes, but I needed to make bread, and mashed potatoes give bread such a nice moist texture.

I found a recipe for potato bread (p. 112) in The Bread Machine Cookbook by Donna Rathmell German. I love the Nitty Gritty Cookbooks series. I have never had a failure with these cookbooks.

IMG_5876I still had mashed potatoes left. Rather than throw them away, which would have meant wasting perfectly good food, I measured out the remainder and froze the individual portions–enough for two more loaves of bread! Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

