Odds and Ends: Stale Crackers

IMG_5755Besides adding them to meatloaf, poultry stuffing, and breading mixes, what do you do with stale crackers? Maybe you have (like me) guiltily thrown them away or fed them to the chickens.

Lately, I’ve been crisping them up again and using them for the purpose for which I had originally bought them! Don’t mock–many people know that they can do this but HOW MANY PEOPLE DO?

Here is how I revitalized some crackers for the hand shucked tomato soup (I doubled the recipe and froze half of the base for winter lunches.) I ate for lunch today.IMG_5754

Spread the crackers in one layer in a baking sheet or pan. (I use a perforated metal pizza pan that I picked up at a garage sale for 50 cents. I own several now because they are so nice for air drying food and herbs.)

Set the pan in your oven and preheat to 350⁰F. When your oven hits 350⁰F, turn off the oven. Your crackers should be crisp. If once cooled they still are not crisp enough, put them back in the now warmed oven and crisp them until they suit your taste.

IMG_5756Store the now-crisp crackers in a zip lock-type plastic bag. No need to ever again throw away crackers or feed them to the birds! Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

