Beef Chuck Roast Barbeque

IMG_5568Summer is the time for barbeque. I just slow cooked my first chuck roast from the new order of beef we purchased from a local farmer. It is good to know where your beef comes from (and your chicken too if you can manage it). I thought I would share my recipe for barbeque sauce that I was given by an excellent cook about 20 years ago.

We never bought regular bottled sauce again.

In this region of Wisconsin, “barbeque” can range from browned ground beef with ketchup and chili powder mixed into it to pit smoked meat that falls apart when you look at it. I occupy the middle ground with  slow cooked shredded beef with hand shucked sauce!

First, I prepare the beef by rinsing and trimming all visible fat from a chuck roast. I lay the roast on a medium onion cut into rings placed in the bottom of a crock pot-type slow cooker. I top the beef with a packet of dry onion soup mix. If you don’t have soup mix, you can substitute a couple tablespoons of beef bullion powder and 1/3 cup of dehydrated onions. Cover and cook on low until meat shreds easily with a fork (about 6-8 hours). Pour off drippings and save for the next time you make soup. Remove meat and pull apart with a fork into shreds. Return meat to the pot and stir in the sauce just before serving.

Here is my homemade barbeque sauce recipe:

Begonia’s Barbeque Sauce

1 ¼ cup ketchup

2/3 cup water

¼ cup Worcestershire sauce

¼ cup cider or malt vinegar

1/3 cup brown sugar, packed

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon celery salt

1 teaspoon chili powder

Tabasco sauce to taste

1 tablespoon corn starch

Combine all ingredients and just heat to a simmering boil.

You can use this sauce immediately or freeze for later use. (I usually double or triple the recipe and freeze some for quick meals, such as barbequed chicken breasts or pork chops.) Enjoy. Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beef Chuck Roast Barbeque

  1. Joanna Campbell says:

    This sounds delicious. I love that it uses ingredients I have on hand.

Share Your Thoughts

