Putting Up Fence

I have a universally admired fence in my front garden area. It separates my edibles from dogs and pedestrians. Mostly it is up because of dogs and their messages.

Don’t get me wrong.  I like most of the dogs that walk by my house and stop to visit for a while. But many of their owners didn’t see the harm in allowing their dogs to “water” my kale and herb plants.  Funny, these dog owners never took me up on my offers of kale to make soup in the fall!

One of my neighbors has referred to this marking behavior as the dogs’ way of sending “pee-mail” to each other. The watering of my kale was a message to other dogs that passed, who in turn left their liquid replies.

The fence solved this problem, but it created another.

We live on a street that leads to a local swimming, fishing, and beer drinking hangout. Kids, teenagers, and 20-somethings travel past my handsome fence every day. My fence is just inches away from the sidewalk. It has posts like old-fashioned walking sticks that thread through two sections of fence and stick into a holder in the ground. These fencepost pull out easily and make handy swords and quarterstaffs as well. The bored and naughty children who walk by my house discovered this quickly. By the end of the warm weather, I was coming home to find sections of my fence lying on the ground. A little reconnaissance in the neighborhood, and I had reclaimed several of my missing fence posts (which cost $6 each at Menard’s) and had chatted with a few teens.

I will probably never discover who exactly found my fence posts so attractive that they just had to take a few home with them.  I thought it would be more productive to figure out how to make them less easy to possess. I took the fence down for the winter and considered my problem.

I started noticing that other people and businesses also had this type of fencing. Some of them were in public areas near sidewalks. The fences were still upright, so I knew they had found a solution to my problem. I’m all for shortening the learning curve, so I studied these fences.

The solution was simple.

Insert the fencepost into the holder in the ground and drill a hole through them both. Thread wire through the holes and fasten it tight, tucking the end of the wire out of the way so it isn’t easy to untwist. I suppose a person with anger issues could still dismantle the fence, but a bored individual   would move on to easier prey.

Well, I hope that they at least keep moving and leave my fence alone! Begonia

This entry was posted in Gardening and Foraging and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

