Odds and Ends: Stale Bread to Croutons

I’ve been working with stale bread again! This time I had some egg sour dough bread that went stale faster than we could eat it—and that’s pretty fast!

  1. I again cut the bread into cubes and spread them out on a tray to air dry for a day. I didn’t put them in the oven because I didn’t need them to be completely dry before the next step in their transformation.
  2. When they were just about dry, I heated about a tablespoon each of olive oil and butter in heavy cast iron pan and stirred them around in the mixture until they were evenly coated.
  3. Then I added an Italian herb mixture of oregano, basil, and rosemary and a little freshly ground pepper.
  4. I continued frying the bread cube, oil/butter, and herb mixture until the bread was lightly browned.
  5. Finally, I spread them in a single layer in a shallow pan and baked them in a low-oven (about 300°F) until crisp.

After cooling, these croutons are great on salad or in any tomato-based soup. Don’t throw away those odds and ends of stale bread. Enjoy! Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation, Make It Yourself and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

