Bloglet: First Egg of 2012!

The girls have all their plumage back and have been very industriously scratching in their yard. Until their molt was complete and their new feathers in, they had no interest in being outside no matter what tempting dainty I used to draw them out for a breath of fresh air.

In the last week I noticed that they were eating a lot of oyster shell. Today I noticed that someone had been testing out the nesting boxes—a definite sign of egg laying readiness.

I went out to cover the dust box and close the pop door. I called them into the house because they had been lingering outside in the twilight. I glanced at the nesting boxes and there was one fresh egg!

It felt like the first day of spring to me. I’d better dust off the plant lights and get busy! Begonia

This entry was posted in Bloglets, Chickens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

