Odds and Ends: Leftover Rice

I made some chicken flavored rice with dried vegetables the other day for a chicken dinner I was serving. We still had a generous serving of rice left over a few days later.

I’m on a waste-not-want-not food campaign with the price of food rising. One easy way of reducing the food bill, as well as being a good steward of our food resources, is to have fried rice for lunch!

  • First, I scrambled one of my good backyard hen eggs in the same pan in which I intended to fry my rice.
  • After cooking the egg, I removed it from the pan and added a little more canola oil to the pan.
  • I added my chicken flavored rice with vegetables to hot oil and stir fried until everything was heated through.
  • Then, I returned the eggs to the stir fried mixture and sprinkled with sesame oil.

Serve with soy (I like shoyu) sauce. Delicious! Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

