Garage Saling: Village-Wide Highlights—Clocks

I look forward to my town’s village-wide garage sales every year. It always happens on the last weekend of April. Some things I buy because they just add some joy to life. Clocks fall into this category. I have enough clocks in the house already, but I found a few more this weekend that I just couldn’t pass up.

The first unofficial day of the sale was Thursday, a miserable day at best. It was a blustery 39°F and spitting rain—nobody out but us hard cases! I found THE KING under a heavy duty sheet of clear plastic vapor barrier being used to protect a trestle table of stuff in a driveway. It was one of those clocks shaped like a person with legs that served as a pendulum. (I own The Duke as well—also picked up at a garage sale for a dollar!) I handed over my dollar and brought The King home.

The only thing that could have made this clock better would have been if it had been the 1970s Elvis in the white rhinestone jumpsuit. I’ll be keeping an eye out!

I found my second clock at one of the last sales open on Friday evening. Most sales close by 4:00 p.m. and this one was still open at 5:00 p.m. I noticed a bird clock. There are two main varieties that I see often and this one turned out to neither of them! A closer look at the birds showed that they were all tropical and unfamiliar (except for one that looked like a whippoorwill). The names of the birds where on the clock face in English and what looked at first to be Spanish but turned out to be Portuguese. The clock was a present brought back by a relative who had been visiting Brazil.

I asked the woman running the sale for a battery so I could listen to some of their calls before deciding to purchase, which she did willingly enough. (People who run good sales are always willing to let you plug things in or lend batteries so you can be sure that something works.) Since it was the end of the day and the clock was really something she didn’t want to bring back into the house, she was willing to deal, so I was able to get the clock for $2. I always try to deal on these clocks because they are usually in the garage because they were driving someone in the house crazy with their racket! People are happy to be rid of them.

The attractive thing to me about this clock is its novelty. I have absolutely no idea how set the clock up so that the birds’ songs match their pictures. I am going to have to look up each of the birds by their Latin name on my favorite internet field guide site in order to match the songs to the birds pictured on each hour. The songs themselves are novel to me. My favorite is the crazy bird that sounds like it is whistling show tunes. I laugh out loud every time I hear it!

My husband said to me today shortly after 1:00 p.m., “I don’t know if I’m going to enjoy living in the tropics.” I figure if he could get used to my frog clock, he can get used to these tropical birds! Begonia

This entry was posted in Garage and Estate Sales and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

