Garage Saling: First Village Wide–Day Two

I wore a full-length down coat this morning, and boy, did it feel good. I wish I’d broken down and worn it yesterday. I about froze to death. I spent the whole winter trying to stay accustomed to the cold, and it only took a few warm early spring days to totally undo all that cold hardening.

It turned out to be a much better day than I had anticipated weather and sale wise. The rain did hold off until about 2:00 in the afternoon. The morning started out pretty bright, and the wind came up gradually as it clouded over. Prices seemed be up a bit, and I only ran across two or three sales that had free boxes or stuff. (Usually, free boxes are the rule rather than the exception.) I did pick up three free boxes of books that I will trade or donate. (I did let the people know what I was intending to do with them and they didn’t care.)

I had my daughter with me today. She was in need of clothing, so we took the morning to get her resupplied. We ended up going to a few places that had shown fashion potential. (I look for labels, good fabrics, and overly tanned women wearing too much gold jewelry. My daughter looks like a million bucks, and there’s a reason for that.)

We did well. We came home with a pair of jeans, a pair of striped velour cords, a pair of black pinstriped dress pants, and a gray hoody with those weird, knuckle-length sleeves that kids like so much. We ended up spending $6.50 for it all. Try getting a deal like that at Wal-Mart!

I found all kinds of interesting odds and ends. The best value was thirteen containers of (new) Mary Kay product. I found scented powder, body lotion, soap, and shower gel for men and women.  Mary Kay has a wonderful company policy. If a dealer wants to stop selling their product and returns their leftover inventory for a refund, they can never be a Mary Kay dealer again. The result is a windfall for garage salers. Dealers who want to keep their options open often sell off their stock for next to nothing in the end. I got all thirteen items for $6.50 as a result of that policy and so can you!

The historical society operates a sale out of the restored train depot that is now a museum. I bought two boxes of various patterns of pink transferware dishes (Syracuse, Shenango, and Homer Laughlin) leftover from last year’s sale. Even though it was the first day of their sale, I figured they would be highly motivated to make a deal rather than taking a chance of having to store them for another year. I ended up with 30 pieces for $10. Did I need these dishes? The answer is no—but they were so pretty, I just couldn’t resist. We all have our weaknesses. Begonia

. Prices seemed be up a bit, and I only ran across two or three sales that had free boxes or stuff. (Usually, free boxes are the rule rather than the exception.) I did pick up three free boxes of books that I will trade or donate. (I did let the people know what I was intending to do with them and they didn’t care.)

This entry was posted in Frugal Shopper, Garage and Estate Sales and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

