Bloglet: Dirty Work

March 23, 2011

We went out to the Mary garden yesterday and took down fencing. I was a little sad about it since we’ve been gardening there for at least 6 years, but I haven’t had much luck growing anything in that spot for the last two years. Enough is enough. (We didn’t take the garden fence down last fall because the ragweed was 6-7 feet tall with trunks like trees. I got sick just picking the last of the vegetables. They weren’t in the garden itself, but it was still too much for me.) I’ll go back to pick up trash and bag up the remnants of the carpet mulch I’m gathering up by the handful (the jute backing has rotted away)!

The barter arrangement was good for all of us for quite a while, but it will be nice to only have one fairly level lawn and yard to work in this summer. Soon we will start to convert the south-side perennial bed to asparagus and rhubarb and the northwest front lawn to flowers and more vegetables. I am going to pot up most of the flowers from the south bed and sell them to cover the cost of asparagus crowns and rhubarb roots. Begonia

March 23, 2011

We went out to the Mary garden yesterday and took down fencing. I was a little sad about it, but I haven’t had much luck growing anything in that spot for the last three years. Enough is enough. (We didn’t take the garden fence down last fall because the ragweed was 6-7 feet tall back there with trunks like trees. I got sick just picking the last of the vegetables. They weren’t in the garden itself, but it was still too much for me.) I’ll go back to pick up trash and bag up the remnants of the carpet mulch I’m gathering up by the handful! The barter arrangement was nice for all of us for quite a while, but it will be nice to only have one fairly level lawn and yard to work in this summer. Soon we will start to convert the south side perennial bed to asparagus and rhubarb and the northwest front lawn to flowers and more vegetables. I am going to pot up most of the flowers from the south bed and sell them to cover the cost of asparagus crowns and rhubarb roots.

This entry was posted in Bartering, Gardening and Foraging and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

