Bloglet: Otters, Turkey Harems, and Beaver Ponds

March 19, 2011

It’s been quite the day for wildlife! I saw two otters, eight white-tail deer, and a harem of a dozen or so turkeys with a Tom fanning his tail! I spotted all of these creatures within 8 miles of my little farm in town! I spotted the otters a little downstream of the beaver pond that appeared last winter. It is all just a couple of miles down the road in the country. I was coming home and there was a good song on the radio, so I decided to drive a little farther and check out the beaver dam. I noticed something moving that reminded me of a giant red-brown ferret. They were too sleek to be beavers, and martins don’t go in and out of and float around in the water!

Almost all the snow is gone. We have a few crocus and early tulips just starting to peek out of the ground. Everything is really ugly, but there are patches of green here and there. I have lots of raking and chip hauling to do. I’m going to try to get a jump on it now even though I know there will be at least one more snow storm before winter loses its grip. Begonia

This entry was posted in Bloglets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

