Dry Chai Mix

All the ingredients for making chai at home. Note my trusty "spice" grinder!

A friend of mine always serves me a hot drink whenever I visit her. She introduced me to chai—strong and sweet! The whole house smelled like pumpkin pie and made me think of Thanksgiving and family. I’d had some weak renditions of the drink at coffee shops before and they were pleasant enough, but pale ghosts compared to the homebrewed chai my friend served me.

I asked her where it came from, and she pulled a box out of the cupboard and gave me the brand name of the dry mix she had used and told me where she’d bought it. It cost about $5 a box at that time, and I found myself going through a box a week! That was when I decided to recreate the recipe so I could make it cheaper myself!

Dry Chai Mix

  • 9 tablespoons of cardamom (ground)
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper (ground)
  • 2 tablespoons cloves (ground)
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon (ground)
  • 2 tablespoons ginger (ground)
  • 1 ½ cups loose leaf black tea

Combine above ingredients and store in an air-tight glass or metal container.

To Brew:

1.       Combine in a medium sauce pan: 2/3 cup water and ½ tablespoon of chai mix and bring to a boil.

2.       Reduce heat to low and add 1/3 cup soy milk or milk.

3.       Simmer for 5 minutes and strain.

A double batch to share with my daughter!

4.       Add honey to sweeten to taste.

I like this mix brewed with low-fat soy rather than milk. Soy is thicker and a little more richly flavored than the 1% milk we drink. This is also a spicy mix with plenty of black pepper and ginger, so it feels as well as tastes good on a cold day! You can adjust the amount of pepper to suit your taste.  You can also adjust the simmering time or add more milk if the brew is too strong for you.

Store the mix in an air-tight glass or metal container away from light. It keeps

Dry Chai Mix

well for a year this way, but the black tea in the mixture does become bitter with age, so be sure to use it up or share it with a few good friends! Begonia

This entry was posted in Cooking and Food Preservation, Make It Yourself and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

