Spring Has Sprung!

First hellebore! Worth the Wait

We are having some nice warm weather after almost 2 inches of rain. The temperatures are in the 60°s F.

Dwarf Forsythea...patience pays off. This is one of two bushes I dug and transplanted. They had rooted on their own in the bark chip mulch around the mother bush. I shared one with a neighbor, and both are blooming fully for the first time this spring.

Everything is growing, and a lot of the early bulbs and flowering bushes are blooming.

Tulips and Hen. These tulips were the wrong color for a neighbor's garden, so she gave them to my daughter to plant in her garden along with the little hen that reminds of our first chick--The Budge.

Lamb's Ear Heart. I had a lot of lamb's ear available when I planted a new flowering border in my "back 40"--several of these hearts where the result of planting in threes. They make me smile every morning when I go out to collect eggs and tend my biddies.

Crocus

More Crocus! These little beauties are popping up in unexpected places. My favorite bulbs are those that naturalize!

I love the small bulbs--they are always the first to brighten the front yard!

Blood Root. This is a wild flower that started in my shade rock garden and has spread delightfully. We enjoy their flowers for a brief time in the spring, but their leaves are interesting all summer.

The birds are back—we’ve been watching Sandhill cranes, great blue herons, lots of raptors, and even one kingfisher. Today, I want to share some of what we are enjoying on My Little Farm in Town after a cold, snowy winter. Begonia

This entry was posted in Gardening and Foraging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

