Garage Sale Master List

Have you started your master list yet? Our village-wide garage sale, and those of other towns around here, will be beginning in about six weeks. I get the bulk of my “needed stuff” at the first couple of village-wides of the season. People who don’t normally have a garage sale, as well as the “regulars,” have sales during these Festivals of Economy, so the pickings are excellent! Now is the time to prepare: make your list and start enveloping some cash each week if you haven’t started already!

Having a list helps me stay focused on what we need and slows my impulse buying. I find that without a list I forget or fail to budget for the things I will need in the household in the coming year. (I journal what I spend at each sale, so I know on average what I spend each year at garage sales. That amount becomes part of the household budget line the following year. See  my 2/23/10 blog.)

I carry with me at all times my master list and index cards containing clothing and shoe sizes and the measurements needed for shopping remodeling and decorating items (such as paint, flooring, tile, baseboards, molding, curtains, and countertops).

Here’s an example of my master list so far:

  • Electric chainsaw
  • Freezer (20 cubic feet—chest, 2 or 3 years old)
  • Flooring for living room and family room (wood and tile—300 sq. ft.)
  • Bathroom sinks and or counters
  • Bathroom faucets (new)
  • 1×2-inch wire fencing (3-4 ft. width)
  • Split rail fencing
  • Bricks and patio block
  • Ceiling and wall paint
  • Plywood
  • Plastic fruit ripener
  • Extra two-paddle bread machine
  • Extra adjustable slot toaster
  • 2 sets of King Sized sheets
  • Bicycle Repair Stand

I can’t wait for the season to start in earnest. It’s been a long snowy winter. I’m looking forward to some real bargains. I hope you are, too! Begonia

This entry was posted in Garage and Estate Sales and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

