Are You One of the Ten Percent?

We live a quiet life here on our little farm in town. We are one of the Ten Percent of American households who do not have any form of dish or cable television service.

I heard this statistic on NPR while sitting in my recliner drinking my morning cup of coffee. I don’t know where they got this number, but it made me think.

I thumped down my mug of coffee and thought, “Oh my gosh! I think I’ve become one of the counter culture!”

Ever since we had to install one of those goofy little black boxes to get any TV at all, I’ve been watching less and less regular TV and more of my own programming. I have a lot of movies, TV shows, and documentaries on VHS tapes (OK−I admit to having a few extra VHS players squirreled away in odd places around the house against the day they quit making them) and DVDs acquired at thrift stores, garage sales, used book stores, and library book sales. We get movies free (sort of) from our public library and watch on line for free at places like imdb.com (Internet Movie Database) and Internet rental sites that have some free content.

Sometimes we will go whole days without watching anything at all. In the winter, you might find us reading books, creating art or crafts, and writing letters (yes, by hand). In the warmer months, we are apt to spend the days gardening and visiting with neighbors. (The Fine Art of Neighboring–that ought to be another blog.)

I can’t count my family among the (probably statistically tiny) number of people who don’t watch any visual media, but we have taken responsibility for what we do watch. It’s a rich and varied life. Are you one of the ten percent? Begonia

This entry was posted in Garage and Estate Sales, Smorgasbord and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share Your Thoughts

